Waterville Historical Society

your connection to the past

The Waterville Historical Society collects, preserves, provides access to, interprets and fosters an appreciation of history that has an impact on the Waterville, Ohio and surrounding area.

Meet the 2016 Board of the Waterville Historical Society


                                     Jim Conrad

President: Jim Conrad is serving his third term as President.  In addition to giving programs for the society and other organizations, he continues to conduct summer walking tours of both downtown and uptown Waterville, as well as tours for local third graders.  His main goals for this year include making better use of our historic campus and saving the Sargent House from the ravages of time. 

                                       Jim Stoma

1st Vice President: Jim Stoma, as part of his duties develops programs for the Historical Society and serves as Chair of the Building and Grounds Committee, directly working on building maintenance and renovation when feasible.  A key member of the SOS (Save Our Sargent) Committee, he has spent the great part of the last year seeking contract estimates to determine the feasibility of restoring the building.  In addition, he annually organizes the Attic Treasures Sale, which will be held in June in 2016.  His coordination of the WHS Christmas Dinner and live auction was a successful finish to the 2015 program schedule.  He has already begun program planning for 2016. 


                                    Rose Kandik

2nd Vice-President: Rose Kandik, Membership Chairperson. Coordinated “Pioneer Arts” event at Roche de Boeuf festival and will mentor/assist anyone willing to take over the position. She enjoys creatively designing flyers, signs, information cards (posted in restaurants), etc. as well as helping with the newsletter. Always seeking help on “Special Events,” Rose looks to find new ways to fulfill our mission while raising needed revenues.

                                        Kathy Saco

Recording Secretary: Kathy Saco ~ Since joining the Society in 2011, Kathy has served as a docent in the Robbins House Museum, co-chair of the Pioneer Arts activities during Waterville’s Roche de Boeuf Festival, chairman of the Constitution Revision Committee and corresponding secretary for the Board. She currently serves as the Society’s recording secretary and is looking forward to serving on the Museums and Historic Sites Committee this coming year. 

                               DeAnna Bradley

Corresponding Secretary - DeAnna Bradley, a lifelong Whitehouse resident with a 35+ year career with the Anthony Wayne schools has offered to fill the position for the coming year.  She credits her father’s recounts of experiences in World War II and the influence of an Anthony Wayne teacher who “brought history alive” for her as her motivation to become involved with the historical society.  Mrs. Bradley has already charmed two years of third grade classes at the Waterville school with WHS’s “Suitcase Museum” presentation, and had two roles as ghosts in the Ghostly Encounters series

                                     Gary Waugh

Treasurer: Gary Waugh has updated the books for the historical society with spreadsheet information that is presented monthly. He handles the mail, pays bills and keeps the board apprised of its financial status. He was instrumental in planning for the WHS Foundation as well as creating the ability to pay for a variety of donations through the website.

Board of Directors at large, serving for three years (2015 through 2017)

                                      Scott Duncan

Scott Duncan has worked tirelessly on many historical society functions over the past years from managing the Society’s ice cream fundraisers and parking at the Wakeman building for the Roche de Boeuf festival to volunteering his skills in restoration and cleanup of buildings and grounds.

                                   Karen Wiggins

Karen Wiggins has been appointed to fill Frank Butwin’s position on the board. She has been a Waterville resident since 1957 and recently retired after 40 years with the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library system.  Her last 6 years were spent as Manager of Waterville Branch and she credits Lois Waffle, long-time manager, as one of the reasons she became a librarian.  Karen is currently co-chairperson of the Historic Homes Tour Committee, working on this event for June of 2017.   

Board of Directors serving a three year terms ~ 2016-2018

                                       Bill Albert

Bill Albert was an active participant in the 50th Anniversary Committee, organized the first official event in December 2014, and has assumed responsibilities for a number of other events with new and interesting ideas. Bill has participated in RDB Day for many years with his booth of stereographic equipment and presented a program about it in 2015.

Charles Larkins, III, current Waterville City Council member and chair of the Parks and Recreation Committee.  A retiree with the Lucas County and Ohio Turnpike Commission, Mr. Larkins has been active in his church and other volunteer organizations.  We welcome Chuck Larkins to the Board of the Waterville Historical Society.


                              Charles Larkins, III  

KBoard of Directors appointed to fill a two year term ~ 2014-2016

                                  Tyler Madeker

Tyler Madeker, employed by the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency, who with his wife Nicole recently relocated to Waterville. He states that he always had an interest in history and loves the historical attributes of Waterville and the surrounding area. He also enjoys collecting and studying early American antiques and furniture. 

                                  Bob Chapman

Bob Chapman, Chairperson of the Museum and Historic Sites Committee is an active member who assists with the building and grounds and also volunteers in the Wakeman Archival Research Center. He also serves as a Director at large. Bob has served as a docent during open houses and Third Grade visits.


Standing Committee members, appointed positions:

                                     Verna Rose

Verna Rose, Archives Committee Chairperson, has organized the Archival Research Center at the Wakeman Building. She has led the search and creation of the WHS website and Facebook. Verna and her husband John have authored five books on Waterville.  They have volunteered countless hours to staffing the archives and assisting visitors with research and responds to numerous local genealogy questions.

                                  Phyllis Witzler

Phyllis Witzler, Committee Chairperson of the History and Publicity Committee, researches much of the local history collected for the society. She has compiled a book of oral histories of longtime area residents, works on the newsletter and continues to do publicity for events and programs throughout the year. Most recently, she has actively contributed to the website creation.

P.O. Box 263,  Waterville, OH  43566            whs43566@outlook.com

Site by T3m ltd.    All images are intended for research use only.  Please respect any limitations of their original copyright holders.